Contemplative Traditional Music Series Springtime Court Music


Contemplative Traditional Music Series:
Springtime Court Music

On April 21, Artist Han Heejung performs the two-stringed haegum in the p’ungnyu style, and her subdued and unhurried melodies are designed to prompt contemplation. Han opens with the Yuch’osin chi kok version of Yôngsan hoesang, accompanied by two wind instruments, the taegûm and the hyangp’iri. She also performs the Haegûm sanjo in the style of Chi Yônghûi, a delicate tune reminiscent of Kyunggi folk music with Chinyang, Chungmori, Chungjungmori, and Chajinmori rhythms. Han concludes with Chôk Nyôm, a seven-movement solo piece for haegum composed by master Kim Yôngjae, and a composition by Yang Sônghwan that derives from the folk music of Kyôngsang province
Traditional teas and sweets are on offer throughout this special hour of contemplative music, commentary and Q&A.

Thursday, April 21
Han Hee-jung

About the Performer:
Han Heejung was a principal member of two traditional orchestras in Korea, the Youth Korean Traditional Music Orchestra and Seoul Korean Traditional Music Orchestra, prior to immigrating to the United States. She graduated from Chu-Gye University for the Arts, where she received traditional academic training and studied under celebrated haegum performers Jung Lim Kim and Kyonng Sook Yang. She joined the Korean Traditional Performing Arts Association’s Chamber Ensemble in 2005, developing new approaches to Korean traditional compositions.


$10 Members/Student Guest; $20 Guests; $5 Student Members
Explore Korea card holders attend this program for free with REGISTRATION


Leave a Reply

범양해운은 전 세계 어디로나 예술품 전시그림작품, 도예, 조각등 전문운송업체입니다. 특별전문포장으로 수많은 작가들이 이용하는 범양해운!! 지금 문의하세요. 201-755-0090 (24시간무료견적).